Types of road races

Graded Scratch Race (Road)

Is a mass start road event, it is a race in which riders of similar ability, race together, they all start at the same time and cover the same distance. Graded Scratch races can be over various distances, each grade can be different if it’s a multiply lap course, with the winner being the first rider to cross the finish line at the end of the distance. As most races have 5 or 6 grades racing at the same time you are not allowed to use another grade to help you if your dropped or passed by another grade.

Handicap Road Race

Is a road race where all riders race of the same distance but depending on their grading and past performances riders are allocated a handicap time.
The riders leave at this time in small groups, riders in the group ride working together hoping to keep the others at bay, the best / fastest riders leave last, this could be an hour after the first and are known as scratch, if the handicapping is spot on, all riders will be together for the final sprint to the line. This is dependent on all riders riding to their best & the weather conditions being as expected when the handicapping is done, wind & rain can change the performance of the riders.

What makes a Handicap bike race?  Well, all the starters are grouped into similar abilities by a “Handicapper” in the days preceding the race. Yes, all the starters (old, young, fast, slow, men, women). On race day all the riders are let off with their respective groups onto the same course at different intervals.  The slowest group will start first, the second slowest group will start a few minutes behind and so on.  The time intervals between the different groups is determined by the Handicapper.  The Handicapper will take all sorts of things into consideration when determining who is to be in each of the groups and the start interval (riders’ previous race results, who in the various trade teams have entered, weather conditions, course profile, etc).

The first group starting the race is called “Limit” (could be starting with a 30mins advantage).  The next group that starts is called the “26 minute group” for example.  All the way down to the second last group which is called “the Chopping Block”, and the final group to start is called “Scratch”.  Scratch is obviously the fastest group of the bunch.   Scratch starts the race with a large time disadvantage (eg. 30 minute) and need to catch up to every other group in order to win.  If the race is handicapped properly and fairly, all of the groups should catch each other in the closing kilometers of the race.

The Ken Dinnerville Memorial Race Roll of Honour

1957 Thomas Wills Robert Leach
1958 Frank Carroll Frank Carroll
1959 John Connolly Robert Leach
1960 Garry Holder Kerry Hoole
1961 William Biddle Dudley Crowe
1962 Thomas Wills Alexander Fulcher
1963 Alf Overton Maxwell McGinty
1964 Warren Rudd Kerry Hoole
1965 Claude Jones Barry Walker
1966 Robert Wallis Kerry Hoole
1967 G Hyde Alexander Fulcher
1968 Michael Lubke Kerry Hoole
1969 Robert Whetters Robert Whetters
1970 E V E N T  C A N C E L L E D
1971 Kerry Hoole Kerry Hoole
1972 Vic Adams Vic Adams
1973 Graeme Sansom Graeme Sansom
1974 Ken McMaugh Kerry Hoole
1975 Ken McMaugh John McLean
1976 Rodney Crowe Rodney Crowe
1977 Rodney Crowe Rodney Crowe
1978 Jim Denmark Alan Lovell
1979 Stephen Rudd John Ross
1980 Lionel Covington Shane Sutton
1981 Brian Stephens Brian Stephens
1982 Gary Sutton Gary Sutton
1983 Carlo Paiola Brian Stephens
1984 Roger Croker Roger Croker
1985 Frank Conceicao Kevin Nichols
1986 Simon Grace Vince Zannella
1987 Donald Jeffery David Perry
1988 Craig Hanney Craig Chapman
1989 Ann-Maree Collis Stuart Cameron
1990 Adrian Marshall Stuart Cameron
1991 Robert Vella Peter Clayton
1992 Steven Williams Peter Clayton
1993 Andrew Wheeler Stuart May
1994 Joe Lettie Peter Clayton
1995 Peter Clayton Peter Clayton
1996 Damien Pollard Peter Milostic
1997 Peter Milostic Peter Milostic
1998 Peter Milostic Peter Milostic
1999 Katherine Bates Ian Garrity
2000 Ashley Hutchinson Ashley Hutchinson
2001 David Page Jonathon McCormack
2002 Ross Hodgson Dan Smith
2003 Phillip Barden Robert McLachlan
2005 Sheamus O’Halloran John Forrest
2006 Ben Travers Jose Rodriguez
2007 Glen Wiltshire Robert Cater
2008 Sam Moorhouse Michael Matthews
2009 Matthew Backhouse Michael Phelan
2010 John Forrest Benjamin Hill
2011 Sue Forsyth Benjamin Hill
2012 Chris McAloran Edward Salas
2013 Bradley Martin Troy Herfoss
2014 James Bernard Troy Herfoss
2015 Nicholas Brain Nicholas Brain
2016 Scott Law Scott Law
2017 Simon Anderson Ben Neppl
2018 Darren Robertson Myles Stewart
2019 Peter Budd Jay Vine
2020 Jarrod Williams Ayden Toovey
2021 David Dietz Sean Whitfield