Hans Battaerd Memorial Results and Report

I didn’t know Hans, but from everything that I have heard about his riding ability was that he was a tough competitor and thrived in tough conditions. Todays race certainly had that, 50km/hr winds were what 19 riders battled for the 37km race against the clock. It was that windy that I ran out of sandbags to help stop the traffic control signs from blowing over. (Luke Meers receiving the fastest time prize from Hans’s Brother Wynn)

To everyone that competed today I tip my hat off to you all as there was plenty of suffering going on into that headwind coming back to the finish, just Han’s would of liked!

ICC took out the Inaugural Han’s Battaerd Trophy

Male winner – Luke Meers
Female winner – Nikki Nugara

See results;





Thanks to all that attended and the TC ‘s Adam Jackman, Nicholas Burke, George Galvin, Abe Martin, Terry Wall, Rod Child and Chief Comm Phil (Mr timing) Jones.

Two of the region's leading sporting groups will don their lycra and line up for the ultimate bragging rights this weekend, for the inaugural Hans Battaerd Memorial trophy.Battaerd was a life member of both the Illawarra Tri Club and and Illawarra Cycle Club, both organisations paying tribute to his life with a race sure to be hotly contested.

Posted by WIN News Illawarra on Thursday, 28 September 2017